Club History


The WA Pharmacy Golf Club was founded by Colin Richardson (Pharmacy Consumer Broker), whose business encompassed Western Australia and South Australia, and a network of people with a passion for the pharmacy industry and golf. The SA/WA Pharmacy Golf Challenge was also developed by Colin’s regular visits to SA.

The inaugural committee meeting took place on 29th October 1997 at the WA Pharmacy Guild offices on Hay Street, West Perth. A committee was elected and a constitution similar to SA Pharmacy Golf Club was adopted.

The Founding Committee consisted of:

Colin Richardson – Chairman (Vital West Agencies)

Mitch Davies – Captain (Staff at Vital West Agencies)

Ruth McDonald – Secretary (Secretary of Pharmacy Guild)

Brian Cant – Rep (Burroughs Wellcome)

Brian Herbert – Pharmacist (Doubleview)

Peter Colrain – Rep (Schwarzkopf)

Roland Hill – Pharmacist (Fremantle)

Kevin Cumbers – Sales Manager (Sigma)

Anthony Mancini – Pharmacist (Karrinyup)

Tony Garbin – Pharmacist (Coolbellup)

Barry Slatter – Business Manager (Faulding)

The first fixture was a four-ball ambrose on 13th March 1998 at Araluen Country Club. There were 63 players and 19 sponsors. The winners were Brian Herbert, Rowland Hill, Cally Unsworth and Leonie Cook.

The WA Pharmacy Golf Club exists to benefit pharmacists and persons directly involved in the pharmacy industry in Western Australia. As a way of networking, meeting new people and strenghthening relationships forged over the years and playing golf at some of Perth’s premier courses.

“For people passionate about WA pharmacy and golf!”

History of SA/WA Pharmacy Golf Challenge

The SA/WA Pharmacy Golf Challenge inaugural event was held in SA in March 2001. It was initiated by Colin Richardson and developed from a close relationship between SA and WA pharmacists and their mutual passion for golf.

The challenge is held over 4 days of golf with the best 8 players from previous rounds for each state to compete on the final day.

The winning team is decided by the combined points from each player’s individual stableford score.

The event has been staged every two years since its inception in 2001 and WA is the current trophy holder.

2001 Hosted by SA – WA won (252 pts vs 250 pts)

2003 Hosted by WA – WA won (251 pts vs 223 pts)

2005 Hosted by WA – WA won

2007 Hosted by WA – SA won (243 pts vs 242 pts)

2009 Hosted by SA – SA won

2011 Hosted by WA – WA won (266 pts vs 236 pts)

2013 Hosted by SA – SA won (margin 14 points)

2015 Hosted by WA – WA won

2017 Hosted by SA-

2019 Hosted by WA- Draw